Charlaine Harris Video Interview Comic con 2010

Charlaine looks so happy, its brillant! and I’m so excited about the next book!!! really cant wait till May 🙂

“True Blood” would not have existed if not for Charlaine Harris, the cosiest writer you’ll ever meet who has some of the most disturbing ideas.

At the author’s spotlight panel at Comic-Con Thursday (July 22), Harris gets a surprise of her own out of the gate: The officials at Comic-Con have awarded her their Inkpot Award for Achievement in Fantasy and Science Fiction.

After a few introductory statements, Harris opens the floor to fan questions.

Here’s a rundown of the session:

1:04 p.m. – Harris reveals that she decided to write the Sookie Stackhouse novels because she wanted a supernatural twist on the mysteries she had been writing. In particular, she was influenced by Anne Rice, but Laurell K. Hamilton was the one who paved the way “to the acceptance of my book.”

1:05 p.m. – “Finally I got a page on Facebook because my kids told me to. I got a message from Anne Rice” who was a fan of the show. “I said, ‘I think you should read the books.'” The two authors now message each other on Facebook on occasion.

1:06 p.m. – Why she picked the name Sookie Stackhouse: “It was an old Southern name that had fallen into disuse. I thought it was a good name for a girl with old-fashioned values but with a modern twist.” Stackhouse was apparently from the phone book.

***Best Charlaine Harris observations of the panel: “I didn’t realize how difficult [‘Sookie Stackhouse’] would be to say with fangs. You spit when you say ‘S,’ so maybe now I’d name her … Dora Dunce.” *** 

1:08 p.m. – She has no problem reconciling what she writes with her faith. “I hear from people all the time who I’ve made happy … I feel really good about what I do.”

1:10 p.m. – She won’t considering incorporating the Alan Ball “True Blood” stuff, like baby vampire Jessica (Deborah Ann Woll) into her novels.  “I love Jessica too and wish I thought of her first. To me they’re separate entertainment vehicles. Some of the characters are sort of the same and sometimes they’re very different.”

Also: “Sometimes people [who watched the show first] tell me on my website that I’m wrong, that Eric’s maker isn’t Appius Livius Ocella, but it was Godfrey.”

1:11 p.m. – On planning out characters and plots: “Truthfully the way I write is a disgrace. I’m a ‘pantser.’ I fly by the seat of my pants.”

Read more at source

video source

Leave a Reply

